Where to start?

As the holidays draw to a close & the reality of Term Two lures near, I find myself swirling ideas & creative charge to kick-start the very real beginnings of my graduate exhibition at the end of the year.

Sometimes I feel ten steps ahead of myself, as I work everything in conjunction with the start of my business venture, which in all reality, is not likely to kick off for at least another year. However, everything I do from this moment on is in full preparation to reach that goal, so I guess you could say – ‘Nothing like a bit of pressure to get one motivated’!

My art is my passion. It allows me to be creative, be involved in a creative profession & opens the doorway to my culture discovery. It is the basis of what encompasses my life. It also sometimes feels like I’ve bitten of more than I can chew when I try to work out all the creases.

It’s really hard to manage it all especially when being young, married & with two children. I have to sacrifice a lot to get ahead, but, it was the start of my journey – to marry my soul mate, move back home to Te Tairawhiti, start a family & throw myself into this world, so that my children can grow up in an environment that is full of life, culturally infused & provide for them, a financial secure one as well.

I want the best of everything that life has to offer, but at the same time, I want my feet firmly placed on Papatuanuku (mother earth) so that I can rest assured I know where they lay, once Tawhirimatea (god of wind) picks me up & carries me off to spread my wings like the great Toroa (albatross).

I’m a simple girl at heart….

To express better my journey, id like to try & individually post about my art, culture & beauty profession so you can see how it all ties together for me. It will also help me to process it all because I tell you, sometimes, it gets crazy in my head! Another reason to add why I feel this blogging page is going to be a great ‘out-let’ tool for me.

Ka kite ano,

Terangi xx

~ by Terangi Roimata Kutia-Tataurangi on April 20, 2012.

One Response to “Where to start?”

  1. Awesome korero. I wish you all the best in your preperation for your solo exhibition. I’m sure it will be great. Can’t wait to read more on your progress.🙂

Leave a Reply

 
