No Whangara Ahau..

So, i come from a little place called Whangara on the East Coast of New Zealand, now famously known for the movie ‘Whale Rider’. I grew up in its very back yard. Throughout my childhood i came to love & adore its landscape, simple & quaint like a ‘real country’ setting. Summers & Winters – the fiercely hot & shivering cold. Autumns & Spring – crisp colorful leaves & the sound of baby lambs.

Image

Image

My great and grandparents houses are the first two on Waiomoko Road. It runs parallel to Pah Rd (which runs down to the pa & beach) back up opposite into the hill country, divided at one point by State Highway 35. I had a great childhood. Beach, hills but hardly ever down at the marae unless there was a function on. I attended Whangara School until moving into a town school for Intermediate & High School. I then commuted back & forth whenever mum & I would be staying out there. Real ‘simple’ & ‘sheltered’ upbringing but i sure had a lot to be thankful for – it was the best place on earth!

Image

Every holidays, birthdays, weddings, tangi (funeral) – there was a lot, family would all come home & i’d just kick back with my cousins – plenty of them too, & mostly in my age group. My Nanny & Papa had nine children – 5girls & 4boys all mixed in age – my mums like in the middle somewhere. As i never got to know my father from birth – for what ever happened between my mum & him, this family was all i knew but like i say, i never was without. Plenty of brothers, sisters & father figures within my uncles, my male role models.

I was a pretty good kid really..i had strong family values from a young age. It wasn’t until i got to high school – when i discovered boys, alcohol & fast cars that i really made life a living hell for my poor mother & grandparents. I look back & it makes me sad to have done some things but at the same time, it was frustrating because i felt quite responsible & i was like, i would have fun & be a bit reckless but never morally irresponsible. I just needed freedom.

At the age of 16 I moved to Auckland – 10 years i was there until i finally moved back to Gisborne three years ago. Not Whangara yet.

My Nanny passed away in that time & it really tore the family up. Still many a drama today. She was the backbone of us all. Even though i grew up in Whangara & visited regularly while living in Auckland, i suddenly felt that i had never had a lot or enough ‘cultural’ learning..it was more ‘farm & country’. With her passing left a lot of knowledge that i feel sad has now gone. It made me aware that i must reach out & learn about my whakapapa (geneology), rohe moana (sea) & rohe whenua (land). Now that i’ve moved back, i have a family & a husband that love this place as much as i do, how could i not want that?

Image

Since attending Toihoukura (Maori Art School), putting my children through Kohanga Reo (Maori pre-school), spending more time with my Papa & getting involved with things in the Whangara Community, i have enlightened my mind – ‘culturally infused it’ as i like to say! My dream of studying at Toihoukura to learn about Maori Art & Design has opened up many doors of discovery. Not only am i learning about art, more of my whakapapa too. Tikanga Maori (Maori protocols), Waiata (Song), art practice, business, social & life skills. Im now also a member of Te Tapui Mataitai O Hakihea Committee. A committee put together of locals from the area to guard & protect our seabed, our Marine Reserve. It’s a great opportunity to learn more about Whangara, its land & sea. Our next hui (meeting) is on Monday 23rd April so i will try to blog about it.

This is a photo of the plaque i made to officially open the reserve on Sunday, 20th November, 2011.

Image

I feel blessed to be able to enjoy my surroundings, the lifestyle it has to offer & i am looking forward to learning more as my journey continues.

Ka Kite Ano,

Terangi xx

~ by Terangi Roimata Kutia-Tataurangi on April 21, 2012.

One Response to “No Whangara Ahau..”

  1. Awesome pics

Leave a Reply

 
