Make Me Up Competition 2013 : )

When i was at High School, i was well known for having long natural nails, the go-to wardrobe for borrowsies & pulling out the make-up to doll myself and my friends up before we’d go out. When i moved to Auckland at 16years old and discovered that make-up course, it was a huge revelation to me that i could make a career out of it – i always knew i was destined for no ordinary profession.

 

DSC_0370 DSC_0371

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Any chance i get to pull out my make-up box is fun, fun, fun so when i came across this make-up competition i didn’t think twice about entering. The theme for entry was based on ones connection to their culture & heritage. My initial idea was to incorporate my signature style of bright bold design, Maori symbolisim & inspirations of the Purerehua (butterfly) a metomorphisis of myself, one of which I’ve explored throughout my artistic journey, business establishment & branding.

DSC_0163#1DSC_0164#2

I had two sittings with my model, bestie Roberta Buchanan; one as a practice so that i could determine any changes or extra shoots needed for final image entries. The first sitting took about 2 1/2 hours as i included a full set of Toimaikuku, the second sitting only 1 1/2 hours including shoot. It was a very home made setting with sheets, natural lighting, single flash & my two gorgeous nieces holding up aunties backdrops while mummy modeled & aunty took photos : ) It’s fun for them, fun for me & all in all just fun girly time – not to mention – extra mahi (work) towards my portfolio!

DSC_0058#1 DSC_0065 DSC_0179#1

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

In relation to the theme, it expresses my ambition to ‘establish & adapt’ grounding myself by knowing who I am & where i come from through tikanga (maori customs), akoranga (learning), mahi toi (Maori art) & a desire to explore the world in its forever changing pace through my profession & career. Tradition is necessary & contemporary ideas are essential – without a past we have no future. This is my belief. It also expresses my connection to Whangara (The Four Sails-Home of the Whale Rider) through whanau, whakapapa & identity.

I was up against some serious talent & even though i didn’t place, i thouroughly enjoyed the application & putting together the final look  – it’s what i do, i love it! The same comp comes around again next year for its second year running so i can’t wait to enter again : )

‘Dream….Live….Love….Breathe’

T xx

~ by Terangi Roimata Kutia-Tataurangi on October 27, 2013.

2 Responses to “Make Me Up Competition 2013 : )”

  1. Beautiful work!

    -Katie
    smoulderingviolet.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

 
